Glenn Grothman: Contender for Most Disgusting Man in America

There are a few people in this world who make me a combination of nauseous and angry whenever I hear their name or see their face. Santorum and Bachmann have topped the list for quite some time, but a new contender has entered the race and is quickly gaining traction: Wisconsin Senator Glenn Grothman.

Grothman has appeared several times in my blog over the past few months. Let me quickly recap: in the past, he has said that single motherhood is a contributing factor to child abuse, that abused women shouldn’t leave their husbands because they probably just forgot how to love them, and that women don’t deserve to get paid as much as men because money isn’t as important to them as having babies. (A reminder: he sponsored the repeal of the Equal Pay Act).

Those gems were more than enough to get him on my list, but he seems determined to snatch the number one spot, because now he has progressed from a misogynistic, ignorant ass to a misogynistic, ignorant coward.

State Representative Kelda Helen Roys (D-Madison) challenged Grothman last week to a debate, stating that his “outlandish views make clear that he is out of touch with the lives and needs of women and our families.” She wanted to give him the opportunity to publicly explain his actions and the thoughts behind them, which, if I were the target of such ire from my constituents, I would not hesistate to do. Grothman, however, decided to take the lowest road possible, and responded with the following letter:

Thank you for your invitation. The tender of your letter indicates that your goal is to gain further platform to misrepresent the Republican position on a variety of issues. I have expounded my positions in many different forums and will continue to do so. I do not intend to debate someone who begins their invitation with the lie that I have “attacked” women and that Republicans are waging a so-called “war on women.”

So not only does this man seem intent on destroying the rights of the Wisconsin women he was elected to represent, he also refuses to defend his position. It’s hard for me to articulate how reprehensible I find this. If you are a public servant whose decisions affect millions of people, you need to be held accountable for your actions, and you need to be able to defend yourself. Hiding behind the excuse of “your letter was mean” makes him such an unbelievable coward. And if, as he claims, Rep. Roys wants to “misrepresent the Republican position on a variety of issues,” why wouldn’t he want to take the opportunity to clear up the confusion?

This is almost too much for me to even write about, so I am going to let Roys, one of my new heroes, sum it up:

“For the past few weeks, he has had no problem sharing one outrageous, retrograde theory after another — and apparently intends to continue doing so. Yet, when challenged to defend those beliefs in a public forum, he demurs.”

It almost makes me want to become a resident of Wisconsin so I can vote this sorry excuse for a human out of office.

Now there's a man who knows what women need

Leave a Reply

